In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

LEE bullet molds

I have been casting bullets for about 50 years. I ran into a new one for me. A brand new six cavity LEE mold supposed to be a 125 grain 2R round nose bullet. I use straight wheel weights mixed with 20% linotype for a hard easy to cast bullet.

I casted a three pound coffee can full of them. Wow, what an exercise in frustration. They seemed to size hard, that should have clued me in, it did not register at the time. I loaded about a thousand of them and tried them in my Glock 34. Most would not chamber and fire. Even though my load was proven and safe it showed pressure signs that worried me. One pulled the bullet out of the case when it would not fire. It was stuck HARD in the bore. I had to drive it out with a brass rod.

As usual the junk digital caliper had a dead battery. This thing ate batteries like crazy. Even not using it the battery went dead after a month or so. I got a Mitotoya (SP?) industrial one and it is well worth the money. Anyway, I checked the as dropped bullets that were supposed to be .355. None of them were. They ran from .3565 to .3602. out of curiosity I weighed them. All of them were over 130 grains. One was 132 grains!

I sent it back to LEE and was just told they were sending me a new one. This is the second LEE mold that caused me headaches. I had a 2 cavity 340 grain .458 bullet mold for the 45-70. It casted oval bullets. It was obvious the cavities were off center in the mold block. It was cheaper to throw it away and buy a new one than send it back.