In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

I missed the party...

nordnord Member Posts: 6,106
I graduated from high school in 1966 and signed up for the Marines a couple of months before school was out... Figured I'd rather get shot at than put up with campus hippies.

Took my physical and flunked due to a previously undetected heart murmur and thus ended my military career. In hindsight it may have saved my life.

I don't understand the wannabe's. I thank God that I made an honest effort to serve and was rejected. For those of you who served, I have nothing but the deepest respect and admiration. Why anyone would lie about having been to that awful place, I have no idea.

Please accept a salute from a grateful civilian. Thank you for your service.

Comments

• Options
    dheffleydheffley Member Posts: 25,000
    edited November -1
    Nord,

Thank you. As you know, we didn't see much "respect" then or for many years after. I knew the majority of people opposed the war, but they blamed the politicians not the soldiers. The ones who blamed us just yelled louder, but if that's all you hear, you think everyone is against you.[V]
  • Options
    jkingrphjkingrph Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Nord,

I really did not want military. Saw enough in 2 years of army rotc, so when draft notice came joined the Air Force, basic the ots, trained as weapons controller. Never should have been trained, could not pass flight physical. Finally transferd back to medical service. I had finished college as pharmacist before AF, Served 10 years, got married had 2 year honeymoon with new wife in Turkey. Then out for about 10 years, back into reserve to help build up college fund for my son. Called up 3 months later and deployed to England for a contengiency hospital during Desert Storm.