In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

A Grateful American's "Thank You"

Slow_HandSlow_Hand Member Posts: 2,835
edited September 2006 in US Military Veteran Forum
To every man and woman who served our Country in the armed forces during the Viet Nam War, I offer my virtual handshake and a very big "Thank You" for the sacrifices you and your families made.

To the families and friends of those who gave their lives in this war, know that it was NOT in vain. Theirs was a noble fight, no matter the politics or sentiments of that time.

I was a college student back then and also a cadet in ROTC for one year. My status was 1H with a high lottery number in the draft and so, as fate decreed, I was one of the luckier ones.

I never had the privilege of serving our Nation in the armed forces and I know that those of you who managed to come back home from Viet Nam home did so without recognition, praise, approval or a well-deserved heroes' welcome.

Many of you left more than just a part of you there and to that I can offer little if any consolation. You all did what you had to do and you did so without question.

I pray that the apathy and ambivalence our Viet Nam heroes have experienced in the decades since will never ever happen in our Country again.

Thank you.

God bless you all. God bless America.

Comments

• Options
    jocko007jocko007 Member Posts: 81 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thank you USMC 1969-1973 Viet Vet
  • Options
    joeaf1911a1joeaf1911a1 Member Posts: 2,962 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    " I know that those of you who managed to come back home from Viet Nam home did so without recognition, praise, approval or a well-deserved heroes' welcome.".. So what else in new. When I returned from the ETO
    after wars end the garbage was first taken off the ship, then we finally