In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Vietnam Vet Questions

JoshF101JoshF101 Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
edited December 2007 in US Military Veteran Forum
Hello, my name is Joshua Farrel and I am currently studying the Vietnam War in my college U.S. History course. For this course I must write a research paper on the Vietnam War. I thought it would be interesting if my paper included some first hand evidence from the war. To make my paper that much more interesting, I was hoping you could answer a few of my questions so that I could include your responses in my paper.

1. What were you doing during the period of the Vietnam War? Were you drafted or did you enlist?
When did you serve and what did you think about the military services at that time?

2. At the time, what did you think about the United States' involvement in Vietnam? Why did you think the
U.S. was at war?

3. How did you feel about the draft? Was anyone close to you drafted?

4. While serving in the military, what did you understand your purpose to be? How do you now view your
service in Vietnam and the reasons for which you were sent?

5. Did your view of the war and the U.S. policy change as the war unfolded? Did any personal
experiences during the war years significantly shape your views? Have your views changed since the
war ended?

6. During the war years, did you believe that President Johnson and Secretary of Defense Robert
McNamara correctly analyzed the situation in Southeast Asia and pursued the appropriate course in
escalating war efforts? What do you think now?

7. What other memories from this period could you share?

8. What lessons for Americans today do you see in the Vietnam War experience?

If your could please answer these questions it would be very helpful. Thank you for your time!

-Joshua Farrel

Comments

• Options