In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Post Traumatic Stress

CPT4209BCPT4209B Member Posts: 7 ✭✭
edited January 2008 in US Military Veteran Forum
How do you guys deal with this stuff. I am not a vet, I am a firefighter. It has ruined my marriage at this point to where she left. I have a kid that is 3 and a wife i love but doesnt understand just how dang bad this stuff is and all its little idiosyncracies that go along with it...anger sadness, guilt, rage, helplessness, and the inablility to make a decision sometimes, let alone the whole tomorrow may not happen thing ...so live life right now! Any help I would love to hear. Unfortunately I know someone out there has this crap too, and for that I am sorry. At least know that your efforts over there did make a difference. I can type while drinking a beer to try and help my mind to get to a point to ask you guys for help. Thanks for all you did, and sorry for the loss of those that I will never have the chance to buy a beer for.
M.K.

Comments

• Options
    cercer Member Posts: 826 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    don't think you'll get many replies. only can say one thing GET SOME HELP call a doctor.
  • Options
    guns.comguns.com Member Posts: 40 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    My two cents. I was always told in this order: Family, faith, and your job. You choose. I left my law enforcement job of over a decade I loved but not as much as my family, your not alone. It's hard to give up that working relationship with the buddies and the excitement but it can be done. It's nice not having to make those life threatening decisions and wondering about tomorrow and just being a regular joe. Get help is a good idea too. Not an easy step, but a good one. Take Care brother.
  • Options
    dheffleydheffley Member Posts: 25,000
    edited November -1