Agent Orange Effects on Family

prangleprangle Member Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited July 2012 in US Military Veteran Forum
My wife went to the VA again today.

1. Miscarriages(My wife had three).
2. Sons or daughters with sinus problems(I luckily had one daughter) and she had sinus surgery at age 10.
3. I had a cerabellum stroke 3 1/2 years ago. I have to have a cane to walk and still look drunk while walking.I have a hard time doing natural sanitary things. Constant vertigo.
4. I have had hiccups (diaphram spasms)for 3 1/2 years.

The Army tested AO in Canada to prove it was safe. Now Canada is paying Agent Orange $$$$ to troops around that area.

Comments

• us55840us55840 Member Posts: 31,282 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The following is C&P from another site about a servicemans' fight with the VA over AO exposure.

My military history:

I entered the Army on April 17, 1967. I graduated from the U.S. Army's Signal Center and School at Ft. Monmouth, NJ with an MOS of 26L20 - Microwave Radio Repair. After finishing that course, part of my class received orders for Vietnam and the rest of us received orders for Thailand.

Direct exposure

Exhibit 9 - Admiral Zumwalt's report to the VA : Herbicide was used by the military to ".clear Vegetation around military installations, landing zones, fire base camps, and trails" (page 4). Also ".a significant, if not major source of exposure for ground forces was from non-recorded, non Ranch Hand operations." (page 4) And ".Agent Orange issued to Allied forces was frequently used on unrecorded missions." (page 5)
    Exhibit 10 - Department of the Air Force letter to Congressman Lane Evans: In the last "Answer", (page 2), an answer to the question about whether or not certain herbicide agents were used at bases in Thailand, Colonel Boyd's response is: ".commanders were at liberty to use herbicides for defoliation around their activities using either handheld or vehicle mounted units, with no accountability required.."