In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Assualt Rifles in NJ?

jshaw16jshaw16 Member Posts: 6 ✭✭
I'm new to this whole thing, but the past few weeks I've been looking at different assault rifles and the relevant NJ laws. Now, the way the law is worded, it makes it seem that anything even resembling say, an AR-15 or AK47 or G3 or whatnot, is illegal (there is even a specific list). However, I have seen AR-15's for sale in NJ stores and G3's in NJ for sale online. What's with this? Is there some way to legally dodge the assault weapons laws in NJ? For example, I've heard that a semiautomatic rifle cannot legally have more than one of the following: pistol grip, flash suppressor, grenade launcher, bayonet mount. I'd appreciate any help, thanks a lot.

Comments

• Options
    gunphreakgunphreak Member Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    As far as I know, New Jerky only has two major State laws to contend with. The first one is that the magazine on it cannot exceed 15 rounds. The other, and I'm not sure it applies to rifles, but definitely handguns, is a requirement for it to possess some sort of "smart" gun feature, such as an internal deployment lock.

But, both laws are silly, unconstitutional, and evil.

Death to Tyrants!!!

Those who would offer any interpretation that would relegate Amendment II to "relic" status of a bygone era are blatantly stating that the remainder of the Bill of Rights isn't worth a damn, either.

Luke 22:36.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Thanks, I'll look into it further.
  • Options
    KhegglieKhegglie Member Posts: 330 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    see WWW.packing.org for state firearmlaws
  • Options
    jo-danjo-dan Member Posts: 57 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    The new model AR15, the bushmaster and the M1A are exempted