In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

A Cop Thread

nunnnunn Forums Admins, Member, Moderator Posts: 35,988 ******
This angry fellow over on General Discussion suggested that no cops were brave enough to post on the Gun Rights forum. Well, here goes one.

I have been a police officer, call me a Peace Officer or LEO, whichever suits you, since 1975. I have always worked for municipalities, three in Arkansas and one in Texas.

I am also a FFL dealer, being so licensed since 1976. I sell a few guns here on Gunbroker now and again.

I hold a Texas CHL, and I was once licensed to teach the Texas CHL course. I kept a CHL so I can still carry if I get suspended.

I like the recent Federal legislation allowing me to carry off-duty in other states, and even after I am retired. I hope this will lead up to nationwide recognition of your state CHL. BTW, this "privelege" is not universal, nor is it automatic for retirees. The retiree has to get an ID card from his old PD, and has to carry written documentation that he has qualified with his handgun during the last 12 months.

I don't have a problem with honest citizens arming themselves for self-protection. I don't think you should have to get a license, but that is what is available, so we take what we can get.

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

FFL Dealer/Full time Peace Officer, Moderator of General Discussion Board on Gunbroker. Visit www.gunbroker.com the best gun auction site on the Net! Email gpd035@sbcglobal.net

Comments

• pickenuppickenup Member Posts: 22,844 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Oh boy.....oh boy.....will this be my chance to POOF nunn? [:o)] [:o)] [:o)]

The gene pool needs chlorine.
  • TrinityScrimshawTrinityScrimshaw Member Posts: 9,350 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I hear you David loud & clear.

That angry troll has some real issues.