In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

denied firearm purchase

andrewqb117andrewqb117 Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
hello there, why is it everytime i applied for firearm purchase i was denied? is because i a misdeamenor charges on domestic violence 10 years ago. please help

Comments

• Options
    gunphreakgunphreak Member Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'm not a lawyer. That is a pretty big possibility, though.
  • Options
    pickenuppickenup Member Posts: 22,844 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Simple answer, yes.

When they passed the "new" law, it was retroactive. If you have EVER been convicted of a MISDEMEANOR charge of domestic violence, you loose your gun rights FOREVER. Circumstances of the charge does not matter.

It no longer takes a felony to loose your gun rights. There are ways to appeal this, but don't hold your breath.
  • Options
    tr foxtr fox Member Posts: 13,856
    edited November -1
    Ah yes. Ex-President Clinton's "Domestic Violence" law. The only law I know of that punishes people for what they did BEFORE the law became a reality.

Only somebody like Clinton and his left wing friends would think of such a way to impose a retroactive law.
  • Options
    HighballHighball Member Posts: 15,755
    edited November -1
    And only bush and his republican buddies are entirely too 'busy' snooping into your bank account and phone records to make ANY attempt to roll back that UnConstitutional law....or any OTHER gun law.
  • Options
    Don McManusDon McManus Member Posts: 23,489 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    andrewqb117:
    quote:Originally posted by andrewqb117
    hello there, why is it everytime i applied for firearm purchase i was denied? is because i a misdeamenor charges on domestic violence 10 years ago. please help