In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Constable & Sheriff enforce opinion as law

gnbrotzgnbrotz Member Posts: 8 ✭✭
I just found these forums, and since I didn't see mention of it here already, thought I'd post my story.

I am a PA resident. I had an encounter with a constable when I went to vote on election day. The result of that encounter was my PA LTCF (license to carry firearms) was revoked by the Sheriff, even though both the Sheriff and Constable involved can not state any illegal action on my part and I have not been charged with any crime.

There is a very long thread regarding this at PAFOA.org, as well as being mentioned on several other gun boards. Since the thread is quite lengthy, and full of additional discussion, it was suggested that a summary of events be put somewhere for easy reference without requiring pages of reading to find the pertinent info. To this end, I have published this info on my personal web space.

I'm not trolling for support or looking for criticism, though I'm sure I'll get some of both. The main reason I want this story to be known is because it is a clear example of those in authority using their position to enforce their personal opinions rather than the letter of the law, and punish those who do not comply.

Comments

• Options
    RockatanskyRockatansky Member Posts: 11,175
    edited November -1
    What kind of BS law is this:

"(i) An individual whose character and reputation is such that the individual would be likely to act in a manner dangerous to public safety."

Sounds like something out of Nineteen Eighty Four.

Anyhow, good luck, you've done and are doing a good thing.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    UPDATE:

My hearing date has been set. It will be on January 8, 2008 at 2 p.m. in the Franklin County Courthouse, Courtroom 1.