In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Neck reaming and neck turning . . .

Alan RushingAlan Rushing Member Posts: 9,002 ✭✭
I've limited experience with the processes.

Yes, I know what it's all about, but do not have much practical or comparative experience.

I'd appreciate feedback from experienced folks on what make, model, etc of gear and then the proceedural sequesnce that works best.

Give me the best info for a consistent production if you would.

Comments

• MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I turn necks on some 22/250 & 220 Swift cases or when reforming from a larger case to smaller and/or shorter case.
  • Alan RushingAlan Rushing Member Posts: 9,002 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Mobuck - I hear that, but which "gear" or tools. I've seen a lot of differing looking bits and rigs for doing the deed. Which do you use ... and why for?

What do you do when, with what and why in that order?
  • bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
  • 62fuelie62fuelie Member Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have been using a Forster hand powered unit for years. I use it to true up the exterior of the necks of my .222, .22/250, .243 and .25-'06 cases before the first time I load them. On the higher pressure cartridges (.22/250) I check them for length every 5 loadings and for neck thickness every 10. I've never had to check them at 20. The nice thing about the Forster is that you can mount a reamer an outside turner and trim to length as well.
  • JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I use the K&M tools as referenced by bpost. Ken is an awesome guy to deal with, and will ship to you, BEFORE he receives payment, (or at least for me, he did). His tools are VERY precise and easy to use.