In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Tumbling media

chaneydchaneyd Member Posts: 56 ✭✭
Anyone have a favorite media size they use? I was thinking about 14/20 for corncob and 12/20 walnut. Maybe 50/50 mix?

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    do you use treated media or do you get the untreated and treat it yourself? what do you recommend? thanks.
  • Options
    geeguygeeguy Member Posts: 1,047
    edited November -1
    I have been reloading for over 45 years and never heard this question, so I will be interested in other answers.

I just have used cheapest walnut in the pet store, corn, or rice, and they all have worked very well, so I guess I'm just not as picky as some. I don't even think I ever knew there "was" a size requirement.

Well we all will learn from these answers, which I look forward to reading.
  • Options
    chiefrchiefr Member Posts: 13,801 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    To me, walnut is superior to corn cob and much faster.

I have used "speedy dry" which is an oil absorbant similar to cat litter to clean oxidized brass I have found with outstanding success.
    All additives, both rouges and liquids work great.
    I use an ancient Lortone rock tumbler to clean my brass. I consider it superior to the vibrators. It still works like new. I do however own 2 vibrator types that I use occasionally.
    Hope this helps
  • Options
    smith52smith52 Member Posts: 78 ✭✭
    edited November -1