In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Reloading 9mm - Case Expanding?

hermiemhermiem Member Posts: 261 ✭✭✭
I only started shooting and reloading 9mm late last year. My first 9mm was a Walther P-38 P1. I had no problems with the case length on the reloads. Earlier this year I purchased new a Glock 17 and Beretta 92fs. Everytime I've reloaded cases shot from these 2 I've had to do case trims on them. So far I've reloaded them 3 or 4 times.I have mixed cases but it doesn't seem to matter what kind, thickness etc - they seem to stretch just enough to take them out of spec. Does anyone know if this is common for brass shot from these 2 firearms? It just seems really strange to me?

Comments

• MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,733 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I don't have any suggestions.
    To the best of my knowledge, I've never trimmed a 9mm case and don't seem to have any functional problems with the bajillion rounds I've loaded.
    On the other hand, I don't shoot either Beretta or Glock.
  • jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    Well that's.... very strange.

Did you try dropping a sized unloaded case in the chamber to see if it fully seats? Are you crimping? Have you measured your sized brass to see if it actually has stretched, or are you just going by whether it chamber? Are you trimming to spec length or enough to chamber? What's your load/bullet weight?

I'd probably make a chamber cast with Cerrosafe.
  • fl23infl23in Member Posts: 404 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    sounds to me like the brass is stretching to the chamber, try not trimming said brass (1 gun at a time) and load a mild load and see if the measurement changes(assuming u have measured with calipers). if no change rock out and try same process with other said gun
  • perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390