In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Casting "Boolets"... Mix Info PLEASE.

retroxler58retroxler58 Member Posts: 32,693 ✭✭✭
I continually check the reloading websites for new and improved recipes, etc...
But, one aspect keeps eluding me... CASTING and working with Home Cast Bullets.

Now... I'm not a newbie to the reloading scene.
I've got bulk lead and casting dies as well... How's your cast bullets do in y'er gun... ?

Are you hardening them with some linotype, tin, antimony, arsenic or other... ? Mix ratios... ?

Do you use Copper Gas Checks to hold the higher pressures... ?

Or do you just derate the loads to lighten the pressures... ?
So that things are just so much more simpler... [;)]

Curiously INTERESTED... !!! [:p] And ALL casting comments are WELCOME Pro or Con...

Oh... AND THANKS in advance for taking the time to help a fellow reloader... [;)]

edited for spellin'... [:(!]
I hope I learn to type someday...

Comments

• Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    Bullets that are lead are not hard to cast but do have a learning curve.The main thing you need to remember is the bullet when ready to load in the empty case needs to be .001-.002 LARGER then bore size and you need PROPER lube soft lube is better then hard lube You are trying to seal the bullet to the bore. Soft Swaged bullets will shoot great with good lube . The reason one puts linotype ETC mixed with lead to make a harder bullet is a MYTH. HARDNESS is not the KEY to good results with cast bullets. The real reason is this mix will produce a better quality bullet. IT will shrink LESS then pure lead and fill out all parts of the mold.