In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Molding Lead Bullet

I have been pouring my own lead bullets for a couple of years and always add 95/5 solder to my lead to harden it but the cost of the solder has gone up so much that it is no longer cheap to make your own bullets. Is there anything else that is cheaper to add to the lead for hardening?
Thanks

Comments

• fordsixfordsix Member Posts: 8,722
    edited November -1
    mix in more linotype
  • alligator123alligator123 Member Posts: 145 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Do the newspapers still use linotype?
  • p3skykingp3skyking Member Posts: 25,750
    edited November -1
    I drop mine directly from the mold into a bucket of water. Seems to harden the metal better.

You can add metal toothpaste tubes or any metal ointment tubes to the melt since they contain tin. Of course, put them in at the start of the melt so you don't blow hot lead everywhere.
    edited November -1
    Great idea. I never thought of the toothpast tubes.
    Thanks
  • bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Wheel weights, the old ones will make a fine bullet. You can also got to roto metals for bullet casting metals at good prices.
  • perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    Lino type is available on other sites However for pistol bullets You don't really need hard if you use the correct size at least .001 above bore size and correct soft lube.
    edited November -1
    So what your saying is I can use pure lead as long as I am shooting with revolvers and just plinking at targets. Also someone told me to shoot a few rounds of copper jackets toward the end of my shoot to take most of the lead out of my rifling. Is that right?
    Thanks
  • fordsixfordsix Member Posts: 8,722
    edited November -1