In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Can't be too careful

AmbroseAmbrose Member Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭✭
I had an interesting experience this morning that could have turned out very bad. I've been reloading since 1958 so I'm not exactly new at it. At the range yesterday, I tried a load in a 700 Remington in .222 Rem. that showed promise so I thought I'd try it again today. The load consisted of 55 gr. Sierra blitz, 19.7 gr. of IMR4198, RP case, and Federal match primer. I loaded 10 cartridges last night (weighed every charge) intending to fire two 5-shot groups today. The first shot across the chronograph screens read 3400 fps! I was expecting 2975 fps. Everything seemed normal--no hard bolt lift, no smoke from the action, primer didn't fall out or seem excessively flatened. But I'm running a 5-screen chronograph system with both an Oehler 35P and a PACT so I'm getting 3 readings and they all agree so I believed the chronos and quit right there. I remember a trick I heard of a while ago where you can get an idea where you're going velocity-wise by dividing your velocity by grains of powder to get fps per grain to determine how much powder you need to get the velocity you're after. Doing the math indicated it would take 22.5 grains of IMR4198 to get to 3400 fps. NO WAY I could have made a mistake of 2.8 gr.!!! Fortunately, my reloading set-up was just the way I left it last night. I pulled a bullet and went to weigh the powder. I use a RCBS 505 scale. The 10's gr. weight was not quite in the notch! When I settled it in the notch and weighed the powder--22.5 gr.!! Why my outfit held together with that much of an overload, I'll never know! One more thing to double check.

Comments

• Options
    Riomouse911Riomouse911 Member Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1