In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Steel plates and some questions

badchrisbadchris Member Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭
I'm interested in getting some steel knockdown targets for some "unorganized" shooting competitions. I'm new to shooting steel and have found some targets that are made from A36 grade steel and 3/8" thick. I would be shooting them with handgun calibers up to 44 mag (but mostly 45, 40, 9mm) from distances of > 40 feet. From what I have researched, A36 is a mild steel alloy and I'm wondering if these targets would be durable in the long run. Also worried about ricochets using jacketed bullets at these distances. Any help is appreciated! I could use the education [:I].
Enemies of armed self-defense focus on the gun. They ignore the person protected with that gun.

Comments

• bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    That is too thin for any jacketed round, it will soon bend and crater, cratering/bending will send shards back to you. T-1, AR400-500 are much better steels to use.

If you keep loads to mid range with lead bullets the steel you have will work but will still eventually cup and bend.
  • badchrisbadchris Member Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thanks bpost. I'm seeing the AR500 targets but of course they are quite a bit more expensive. I won't mind paying up for them if they last longer.
    So going with a higher grade steel, is the 3/8" thick still considered too thin? What minimum thickness should I accept? In case it matters, the plates would be in the 4-6" size and maybe a couple 8-10" plates for longer shots.
    Enemies of armed self-defense focus on the gun. They ignore the person protected with that gun.
  • dcs shootersdcs shooters Member Posts: 10,969
    edited November -1