In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

reloading .223

I am new to reloading. I want to reload .223 for an AR-15 and Mini 14. I have a RCBS rockchucker press. What dies should I buy? Do I want full length or small base? I would like to stick with RCBS dies but I am open to suggestions if there is a reason.
Thanks in Advance

Sent to reloading forum for discussion beyond ten posts.

Comments

• SamsDad1911SamsDad1911 Member Posts: 103 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I am new to reloading and will be reloading for an AR 15 and a mini 14. I bought a used RCBS rockchucker. What dies should I buy to start my new adventure? Thanks in advance.
  • SamsDad1911SamsDad1911 Member Posts: 103 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Is it worth it to reload the .223?
    I have heard that most of the AR's are finicky eaters.

sniper1.gif Remember...Terrorist are attacking Civilians; Not the Government. Protect Yourself!
    [img]http://www.ice.gov/graphics/index.htm Report Suspected Violations of Immigration Laws, Call: 1-866-DHS-2-ICE.[/img]
  • TopkickTopkick Member Posts: 4,452 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    I use any die I can get my hands on.

I like the Lee just as much as the RCBS or Hornaday.

I full length resize always and use standard dies in my Bushmaster ACR and DPMS Panther AR 15.

I use the Hornaday lube and have no problems. I shot it today with no issues thru 50 rounds.
    They were loaded on an RCBS Rockchucker with Lee dies.
  • armilitearmilite Member Posts: 35,478 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Go with the small base dies, it's pretty much a given for autoloading rifles. The brand of die doesn't really matter.
  • dfletcherdfletcher Member Posts: 8,162 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I'd say go with the small base. You have to do full length, might as well do the SB.