In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

new powder scale ??

idaho cowboyidaho cowboy Member Posts: 253 ✭✭✭
I have been reloading for a good many years and have used what is now an old RCBS scale. I have noticed that it is not quite as consistent as it was when it was newer. I have cleaned it and that did not seem to help much. There has been a bazillion rounds loaded with this scale and I am thinking it is just getting a little worn in the pivot points. Anyway I have decided to replace it. So, who makes the most accurate scales now days? How about these digital scales that I see? Any ideas would be appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Okie743Okie743 Member Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Did you know that you can ship your RCBS scale to them and they will fix it FREE? (Lifetime Warranty even if it was a used one, no receipt necessary) Send them a email about such.
    Also make sure that their are no breeze or fan running in the room (even a fan running on the other side of the room) when using a beam powder scale or it will be erratic. Also styrafoam close by will make them erratic sometimes.

I use a digital and a beam. I do not trust the digital so I check readings with a beam every once in awhile and use anti-static dryer sheets on both to reduce erratic readings due to possible static buildup. I like digital scales, I just can't seem to trust them from day to day. I constantly do a calibration check quite often when measuring powder too make sure they are consistent. I've seen the digital types not be reading consistent and have to start over during a reloading process when I desired very accurate powder measurements, therefore I keep a constant heads up when using them.
  • Smitty500magSmitty500mag Member Posts: 13,603 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1