In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Primer question when reloading 22 Hornet

nyforesternyforester Member Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭
I have been reloading for over 35 years. I always used small rifle primers in the 22 Hornet. Recently an old timer I know told me to try small pistol primers. Has anyone ever loaded small pistol primers in a Hornet ? I have some Rem 5-1/2 small Mag Pistol Primers I could use but want to see if anyone has ever done it first.
thoughts ???
Thanks - Pete
Abort Cuomo

Comments

• Options
    papernickerpapernicker Member Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Go for it. The small case likes a bit milder primer.
  • Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    So what rifle and what load? Mild loads should be just fine. However if you load near or above top end, primer failure is to be expected.
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    every 22 Hornet I have had "between 6 & 12" of them shot better groups with small pistol primers
  • Options
    edited November -1
    I did load and shoot Hornady spitzers, Lilgun powder with the rem 5-1/2 (Magnum pistol primers). They grouped real tight at 50 yards. There was some black soot noticed around the spent primers. Do you think the Mag Pistol primers are too much or could it be something else ?

Ruger 77-22 Hornet
    Abort Cuomo
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Hard to say. Pistol primers are softer and not really made for rifle pressures. Some powders don't respond well to mag primers and pressures can spike. Try your load with regular small rifle primers and compare the cases and the group.

How many loads on the brass? Do the primers seem to seat real easy, I use hand tools not a press for seating all my primers.
  • Options