In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

243 brass

victorj19victorj19 Member Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭
I am new to the 243. I have RP, Win and FC brass. Which would you use for consistent reloads. Will be using 4064 & 100 gr bullets.

Comments

• Options
    MobuckMobuck Member Posts: 13,790 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    R-P and Federal have worked well for me. I'd be looking at a slower powder for top end loads w/100 grainers.
  • Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    victorj19,

quote:I have RP, Win and FC brass.

Hopefully, this is new brass. I would ignore Federal as being too soft for a longer life span. R-P or Winchester should last you a good long while. Be sure to sort both brands as some folks are reporting some vagaries with the newer manufacturer runs.

The very best buy these days is the Lapua brass and yes, it's more expensive.

I agree that the IMR-4064 is too fast for this combination, by a substantial amount. For use with 100-grain hunting style bullets and standard magazine OAL, I would suggest Re-23 as being the overall best choice for lower pressure curve, velocity and accuracy. The slightly longer list of choices will include:

H-4831sc
    IMR-7828SSC
    Norma MRP (highest velocity with a slightly higher pressure curve)

Enjoy the process!

Best.
  • Options
    62fuelie62fuelie Member Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have had good results with both Federal and Winchester in my old M-70 Varmint. Keep the brands separate for load consistency. I like IMR 4320 and Re-19. I also anneal the necks every 5th loading and trim as needed for length.
  • Options
    Okie743Okie743 Member Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1