In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

baked powder coated bullets

sharpshooter039sharpshooter039 Member Posts: 5,897 ✭✭✭
I am pretty new to reloading, I was looking at cast 44mag bullets and almost everyone has the "new" baked on powder coat finish that the coating is the lube and says the lead bullet itself never touches the barrel so no leading,,does this work or is it all hype ? They only cost about $10 more per 500 on most web sites I looked at,,if it eliminates all leading,,its worth 10bucks. link to one i was looking at.

http://www.acmebullet.com/bullets-reloading-brass/44-CAL-Lead-Cast-Bullets?product_id=437

Comments

• Options
    charliemeyer007charliemeyer007 Member Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    They might work. I hard cast my own Lyman 429421 245 grain bullets sized to .431 and lubed with 50/50 alox/beeswax. I drive them with full loads of BlueDot without leading after the 10 5/8" barrels on my 29's were polished in. Shooter's Choice with a tight patch would strip out length's of lead from the rifling. After like 500 rounds they quit leading.

I use a Saeco 240 grain round nose in the Winchester 94 AE also in 44 mag. Feeds nice and the rifle holds one extra round over the Lyman bullet.

In pistols I have never needed gas checks. Rifles can benefit from them, but I usually just down load until I can run them barefoot without loading issues. Proper lube and sizing helps a lot. A polished bore is good - J&B's bore paste is what I use.

Way back in the day I made half jacketed bullets in 30, 38, 44, and 45 using a CH swagging press that I still have. Harder to find the cups and wire for it. I have several adjustable core molds and have considered making cups along the lines of these gas check makers.
  • Options
    Riomouse911Riomouse911 Member Posts: 3,492 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1