In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

any tips?

i shoot at a local club every monday night(trap). i use a remington 870 express 20 gauge and rio 2 3/4 in. shells(club supplies them). I can usually shoot a 13-14 out of 25. i am fairly new to trap. is there any suggestions that you could give me to improve my score?

thanks

Comments

• Options
    HighballHighball Member Posts: 15,755
    edited November -1
    Find the local hot shot and get some on the ground instruction. Somebody that knows what they are doing can watch you and give instant feedback as to what you are failing to do.
  • Options
    temblortemblor Member Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Good advice from Highball.
    If you can, get a twelve gauge. If you can't right now see if you can use a friends that fits you well. Use a full choke. Wider chokes will make you lazy at closer ranges and pick up bad habits that will show up when you move farther back.The 20 puts you at a disadvantage.
    There are training tapes that show leads from the shooters end that may be usefull. Use a good cheek weld to the stock and keep it there. Concentrate & follow thru with your swing when shooting. Don't stop as you shoot. It will make you shoot behind it every time.
    Don't get discouraged. Alot of it is mental.
    Good luck..........
  • Options
    JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    buy a set of shooting glasses, and tape a piece of scotch tape to the non-dominant eye lense. Learn to shoot with BOTH eyes open, but focusing with the dominant eye. My Father-in-law was heavy into skeet/trap/sporting clays and won several nat'l titles. He taught us about the both eyes open method and the follow through during the shot (as mentioned) and we all became instantly better shooters.