In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Advice on a single-stage press....

theboogeymantheboogeyman Member Posts: 783 ✭✭✭✭
Well....I'm sure this one is going to open a few cans of worms. I'm new to reloading, and looking at purchasing a single-stage press to start. I'll be reloading mainly .40 S&W, possibly .38 Special eventually, but mainly the .40. Price is a big consideration, but I'm also looking at quality and output. I've researched Dillion presses and like them very much, but according to their catalog, they don't make a single stage. What do you guys, reccomend, and why do you reccomend it?

Comments

• CoochCooch Member Posts: 348 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    You are going to get a lot of differing opinions on this one. Myself, I started on a Lee single stage and loaded tens of thousands of rounds before I moved to progressive. Press is cheap, dies are cheap, not much involved. Loved it and still use it for rifle rounds.

The problem is that when I moved to progressive I didn't like lee's turret press...but I have so much invested that I can't switch right now. If I had it to do over I would have started with Dillon. It is worth the money to start right. Don't get me wrong...I still load thousands with the turret press but wish I had started with dillon. Even though the dies are supposed to fit universally, if I went Dillon I would switch.

So there...LOL
  • Tailgunner1954Tailgunner1954 Member Posts: 7,734 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    LEE offers a 2yr warrenty, to the origional purchaser.
    RCBS, Lyman, Dillon and the other "big names" have a lifetime warrenty, and they don't care if your the first or 21st owner of the equipment. Nuff said. I will note that LEE does have some decent products, but for the most part their only selling point is price.