In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Bullet Casting Advise Needed

I am just getting into bullet casting and would appreciate any advise. I just bought a Lee Precision Melter and Lyman mold #358429 for my Security Six.

Thanks,

Lanark Sixgunner

Comments

• Options
    jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    Advice? Hmm. Use hard alloys. Wheelweights are often free and work well, though are often dirty and take awhile to smelt and clean. Use beeswax or bullet lube for flux. Get a copy of Lyman's Cast bullet handbook. Smoke your mold with a bic lighter. Once your alloy is hot and fluxed, and your mold clean, degreased, and smoked, you are ready to cast.

This isn't hard; just pour it into the mold, whack the sprue off with a dowel, and drop the bullet on a piece of cloth and let cool. Continue until you have a nice pile.

Cast bullets need lube. The easiest to apply, and imho one of the best (if goopiest) is Lee's liquid alox. Just drizzle some over the bullets in a plastic dish, roll around, spread on wax paper, and let dry for a day or two.

Past this you'll have to experiment. You will need to generously flare your case mouths to seat the cast bullet without damage, but whether they need sizing or not, depends on how tight your chamber is. If they don't chamber well once seated, you'll have to get a .357 or .358 inch sizer- Lees work fine there, too. Some molds cast a tad fat, it also depends on temp and alloy of the lead.

Great fun, that's all I shoot out of most of my handguns now.

Good luck!
  • Options
    buddybbuddyb Member Posts: 5,244 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1