In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Lee Classic Cast Press vs Lee Turret Press Kit

Late-BloomerLate-Bloomer Member Posts: 249 ✭✭✭
Hey guys,
I am a beginner to reloading and hunting rifles. I have no experience whatsoever & need help.

My local gun shop carries mostly Lee Products & just a few of the other name brands.

I would like to get comments on the pros & cons of these two presses. I shoot only three times a month & will have to load for a .270 Win., 6.5x55mm, 7mm Rem Mag, .30/06, and .308.

Are these good beginner/ intermediate level models to start with or should I consider buying something else?

I know I don't want a progressive press, so I thought the Lee Turret might suit me best for the long run.

Also, what other things do I need to get set up with, your brand recommendations would be highly appreciated as I don't know anyone that reloads as of yet. I just hate to have to re-buy components because of ignorance, hence the questions. Thank you very much from a newbie whose been bit real bad by the bug! [:D]

Comments

• Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    Hello for the most part Lee make a dollar friendly equipment however support is not as good as some others . Old school "ME" like cast iron PRESSES aluminum is strong but has a lot of flex. I think most people will agree it is hard to go wrong with a RCBS Rockchucker in a single station press and with a progressive press Dillon has the best value and support.
  • Options
    SW 357MagSW 357Mag Member Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I've got the Lee single stage press and love it. It's every bit good enough for those calibers. I use the Lee Pacesetter dies as well.
  • Options
    CubsloverCubslover Member Posts: 18,601 ✭✭
    edited November -1