In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Powder scale?

SSD0321SSD0321 Member Posts: 73 ✭✭
I am new to reloading and have been using the Lee dippers to load the powder charge. I am now loading with a powder that needs to be weighed with a scale but I am finding that when I weigh a known charge such as .7cc from a dipper that it weighs light on the Lee scale. I have been very careful to assure that the scale it set level and is zeroed. Can any one tell me if I am doing something wrong or if a difference of .2 - .4 grains will cause a trip to the ER or the morgue?

Comments

• Options
    SW 357MagSW 357Mag Member Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    .2 - .4 grains isn't dangerous as long as you're not loading max charges.
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    It is less of a problem with rifle cases/slow powder than pistol cases with fast powder.

The scale helps you get dead nuts on. If you get a powder trickler you can dribble the last few tenths of a grain to be more accurate.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    I am loading 40SW and with Unique brand powder it calls for 6.2 and a Lee dipper is 6.4 can I use the dipper and be good? The 6.2 is a starting load, is it not?
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1
    My suggestion is to always use a scale when you get near to max loads with pistol. Dippers are not a wise choice. like the other poster stated slow rifle powder don't pose as much of a risk. My other suggestion is to get a set of test weights DON"T trust a scale 100% for test weights look at auction sites MIDWAYUSA or buy a box of 17 caliber bullets and use one as a test weight keep this bullet in a box to always use as a bench-mark weight.
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭