In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

45-70 comparisons

JGKJGK Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
Does anyone have "real life" experience with the Garrett 540 gr Hammerhead versus the PMC 350 gr Penetrators on Grizzly bears? I was told by the people that I bought my Marlin 1895 that the PMC load was a "poor mans" griz load. Hoping to find someone here that has the experience with both loads in real life situations.

Comments

• Options
    Sig220_Ruger77Sig220_Ruger77 Member Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    First off welcome to the forum. I have no experience with either of these loads, but I do have a couple more suggestions for you. Give a good and hard look into Buffalo Bore and/or Grizzly ammunition. These along with the previously mentioned Garrett ammo, are loaded hotter then the average 45-70 load and since you have a Marlin they are safe to use in your gun. I'm not saying that the PMC won't work because I think it will, but I like the higher velocities and energies of the other 3. Just my opinion.

Jon
  • Options
    Sig220_Ruger77Sig220_Ruger77 Member Posts: 12,748 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I just did some reading up on the Garrett cartridges and I am very intrigued. The guy concentrates on mastering the .44 and 45-70 cartridges and by the sounds of it he has definitely done so. The 540 Gr. Hammerhead looks to be a devestating load on anything. Here is an article with some reviews(notice the second article and click on the picture), wow!!

http://www.garrettcartridges.com/reviews2.asp
  • Options
    JGKJGK Member Posts: 3 ✭✭
    edited November -1