In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Handloading For 45 ACP

konamtbikerkonamtbiker Member Posts: 284 ✭✭✭
Hello, I have a few quick questions. I am new to loading for handguns. I have loaded for my rifles for 5 years now.

Questions are....Should i always resize the case after fireforming? Or can i just expand die the case tumble and seat?

With rifles we all know that you can just neck size for most calibers after fireforming. Is that an option with the 45 ACP.

How long will be my case life for a 45 ACP. I have noticed not alot of case growth in my cases. They have been fired 4 times. Is this normal?

Thanks all for the help!

Comments

• Options
    RustyNailRustyNail Member Posts: 803 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I reload 45s and resize/decap at the same time. My feeling is that sizing is more important for smooth feeding than for anything else. Since 45s are generally ejected, they are more subject to undergoing case deformity from the ejection and then from striking the ground and perhaps being stepped on etc, plus I always end up with cases from other people as well. Let me know if you can appreciate any improved quality in fire-formed 45s--my guess is there won't be any benefit.
    Rusty
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Yeah thats what i was thinking also. For the fact that it is an auto much like a 30-30. FL Sizing would be important for correct chambering. I might try 7 rounds of fireformed and see if i get any better accuracy without problems of chambering. Thanks for the help :)
  • Options
    brier-49brier-49 Member Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1