In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Newbie reloader question

spurgemasturspurgemastur Member Posts: 5,655 ✭✭
I'm just getting into reloading and have encountered a problem I can't answer.

What if your reloading manual does not specify data for the bullet you're loading?

First, I'm not going for performance right now. I'm loading light, plinker rounds to get the hang of it (and to save a little cash....we'll see if that works out).

I loaded some .45ACP rounds with 3.8 grains of bullseye powder (recommended starting load per Lymans manual) using Magtech 230 grain FMJ ball bullets, which have a profile like this:

magtechfmj.jpg

No problem. The manual said that cartridge length should be 1.275" OAL, which is what I did. They worked fine.

Then I loaded Remington Golden Saber HP FMJ's (230 grain) with 4 grains of bullseye powder) for an overall cartridge length of 1.240" OAL. They worked fine. That, too came from a manual. Profile of that bullet is like this:

Remgoldensaberjhp.jpg

Now I have a box of Hornady XTP FMJ-FP encapsulated bullets and no data in my manual. I'd been finishing the last of the Magtech bullets so I didn't mess with the dies, but just used them as they had been to seat these Hornady bullets. I'm using 4 grains of powder and the OAL of the cartridge is 1.250. The bullet profile looks like this:

hornadyfmj-fn-enc.jpg

I only loaded about a dozen of these because I wasn't sure what I was doing, and I haven't fired them yet. The cartridges appear to have the same profile as the Magtech cartridges, less the rounded nose.