In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Bullet Sizes

I've been reloading for 25 years and casting for 20 and I just learned something.I've never measured component bullets before and was measuring some I found stashed away.These were some I had pulled years ago and I couldn't remember what they all were from.The .30 cals. measured .305 instead of .308,the 7mm's were .282,not .284.I then went to my bullet cabinet and measured a couple from several new boxes,including .224's(measured.223),6mm's(.243),7mm's(again.282),and .30's(again .305).My cast bullets for all calibers measure what I sized them at.I guess my question is has this always been the case(undersized bullets)or is it something fairly recent.I suppose it would help keep our pressures down,but it would seem to me that it would affect accuracy in all but the tightest bores.Have I just really missed something here?

Comments

• Options
    jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1
    Well dunno what you've found, but I've checked mine and they generally measure as they should...

Undersized bullets aren't the end of the world; common thought when jacketed bullets were introduced was to be a few thousandths under bore diameter- so the bullet would 'upset' into the rifling. This works better with deep cut rifling than with shallow. So they MAY shoot fine, esp. with a fast powder. Neck tension might be an issue. But you do have an element against you, trying to develop an accurate load with jacketed bullets more than 1/1000 under bore diameter, and a leaded mess if you try it with cast unless dead soft.
  • Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Me thinks you need to get your measuring device calibrated; it might need adjustment. [:I]
  • Options
    leadburnerleadburner Member Posts: 81 ✭✭