In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Lake City brass

NwcidNwcid Member Posts: 10,674
Hi all, I am kinda new to the reload thing, although I have pretty much got the basics down. I recently bought some LC brass at our local gun show and my stanard large rifle primers will not fit the pockets. Are they small rifle primers for this case?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Options
    edited November -1
    I have the ability to obtain some lake city nickel brass,Can anybody
    say if this nickle brass any good for reloading.

Thank's For Any Info.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    I have a bunch (5000 ++) of Lake City 87 brass in .308. I have been using it to load for my M60 and Fal and it works great. I also have a Remington 700 PPS that I need to do some more loading for. I have about 200 rd of Winchester brass that is now twice fired. I am wanting to load a lot of arround 500rds for my target gun. I want to use good components so this would meen buying all the stuff including new brass. If I did that it is going to cost me a ton. Do you think if I was to go through and weigh, trim and check the LC brass to get 500rds that matched it would be good or would I be wasting my time?

John
  • Options
    ContacFrontContacFront Member Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    John,

I bought about 500 pieces of LC brass and after trying to work with it I just dumped it. Case capacity on that stuff is off big time compared to Winchester, Lapua, or Federal.

If you want good once fired stuff. Contact John at Brassman.com for some once fired Federal Gold Medal brass. I use that for my gun in 308 and it works pretty good. I think 500 pieces will cost around 60.00 or so. Fair price for good brass. Now if you had Lake City Match brass, thats a different story.
  • Options
    edited November -1