In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Lead vs. Plated vs. Jacketed bullets

agman1999agman1999 Member Posts: 981 ✭✭✭✭
What difference in performance, cleanliness, and barrel wear should I see from from lead, plated, and jacketed bullets in .45 acp. Right now, my plinking rounds are a 185 grain, plated RN from Berry's Manf. (cheapest thing I could find) over 4.6 grains of Universal Clays. Does the plating add anything to the performance, or would I be better off just using lead? Should I consider using a FMJ instead?

Comments

• Options
    ContacFrontContacFront Member Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I've been shooting WestCoast Plated bullets for the past 5 years out of my 1911 and have had no issues. Plated and lead bullets become a problem when you push them too fast. 45ACP, you shouldnt have any issues. As for accuracy wise they work fine for me. I do a lot more defensive style shooting and not target with my 45 though. If you are looking for target load accuracy you may want to give some lead bullets a try. A lot of old target shooters around here shoot lead.
  • Options
    dg101windg101win Member Posts: 751 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have used hard cast and swaged usually over a lite load of Unique with no problems. Lead usually costs a bit less.

Retired Air Force Msgt--NRA Life Member since 1971
  • Options
    knucklehead14knucklehead14 Member Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Alot of indoor ranges mandate plated,encapsulated or fully jacketed bullets.