In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Cheapest reloading setup?

Anyone have suggestions for the cheapest (but not quality-wise) press/dies/etc. that I could get? As a dirt-poor student I dont have a lot of money to throw arund, so nothing like a progressive press. At this point I intend to reload solely for 7.62x54r, so I just need that one set of dies.

Any suggestions are appreciated :)

mnd.jpg

Comments

• Options
    ContacFrontContacFront Member Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
  • Options
    richbugrichbug Member Posts: 3,650
    edited November -1
    The cheapest is a lee loader, at about $20 plus a hammer. The cheapest I would recomend is a lee aniversary kit. It includes everything but dies for about $65, a set of lee dies is $20. Do you have a good supply of brass saved up? The best price I have seen on new brass for it was about$25/ 100.

• Options
    MosinNagantDiscipleMosinNagantDisciple Member Posts: 2,612
    edited November -1
    I have about 200 casings (all winchester)

One question - is it crucial that I get a tumbler to clean the brass? I would love to have bright, shiny brass, but at this point I'm only going to get a tumbler if it presents a saftey issue.

mnd.jpg
  • Options
    richbugrichbug Member Posts: 3,650
    edited November -1
    Not that important. Some bench rest guys think that dirty brass grips the chamber better, making the ammo more accurate. I personally like mine shiny. Lee's case trimmer that mounts on a drill can be used to polish brass, only costs about $3.

• Options
    haroldchrismeyerharoldchrismeyer Member Posts: 2,213
    edited November -1