In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

22-250 Powder

bperdue21bperdue21 Member Posts: 1,457 ✭✭
I want a powder that will fill up as much space in my 22-250 cartridge as possible. everything i have used doesn't seem to fill it up so far. am using 55 gr v-max bullets right now.

I'm not an expert, but i did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night.

Comments

• Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    All of these will fill the case 96% or better with an OAL of 2.350" with the 55 gr. VMAX flatbase. H-380 fills the case.

Win. 760

V V N-540

IMR-4320

H-380

Re15
  • Options
    bperdue21bperdue21 Member Posts: 1,457 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    did not try the 760 or the 380. tried 414 and 4320. will do this in the morning. thanks.

I'm not an expert, but i did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night.
  • Options
    Colonel PlinkColonel Plink Member Posts: 16,460
    edited November -1
    I've always gotten good results with H-380.

I use the 22-250 primarily for prairie dogs out to 400 yards.

"When the going gets weird, the Weird turn pro"
    Hunter S. Thompson"
  • Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    H-380

Bruce Hodgdon named this powder for the 38 gr. load that worked so well behind a 52 gr. bullet in the 22-250 case.

It's a little tougher to get it to burn so trying different primers will be important. H-380 is a classic powder for the 22-250 cartridge.

The V V powders don't necessarily give the highest velocity but they are consistant shot to shot and clean burning. You could also use Varget but it isn't one of my favorites.