In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

reloading .243 with VLD bullets

andy12390andy12390 Member Posts: 486 ✭✭✭
ok, i posted a question on the ask the experts forum, about if loading a 95 grain berger VLD bulet in a .243 would work in a mauser '98 action and they said it would work no problem. one of the people who responded said that the VLD can be loaded into the lands of the barrel? im new to reloading what exactly does that mean? also, should i used a powder like IMR4350 or something diferent? just lookin for some suggestions to start out with there.

thanks

NEF 20 ga.
western field 12, double
marlin 70pss 22lr
mauser 98 7X57
mauser 98 .243

Comments

• FrancFFrancF Member Posts: 35,278 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:the VLD can be loaded into the lands of the barrel? im new to reloading what exactly does that mean?

This means your seating the bullet to just touch the rifling.
    You will get different opinions on this; I have some guns that like it some don't.

Make a dummy case (no primer powder etc) and only neck size the brass
    just enough to hang onto the bullet, (I start with about .045 over max oal.) Then I take a felt marker and color the bullet. Slowly chamber the round and eject, the rifling will/should be marked on the bullet.

Basically you're just trying to find the OAL to the lands and there are other ways to do it.

But once you find that measurement, make some loads (say 5- 10 rounds)
    and back off in increments of .003-.005 and you will find the sweet spot.

I know that is clear as mud, however you will find a spot were your rifle will like the spot (oal) that it likes to shoot.

I don't have a 243. So the powder selection I will leave to others for input. Hope that gives you an Idea.

[:)]

Forgot to add WATCH FOR PRESSURE SIGNS IN DOING SO WITH VLD'S!!

sniper.gif