In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

.22 Caliber Deer Hunting Bullet

bperdue21bperdue21 Member Posts: 1,457 ✭✭
I am looking for a .22 caliber bullet for small whitetails. Was looking at the barnes x and the nosler partitiions. looking for something in the 50-60 gr weight. any suggestions? will be used in a 22-250 or 223.

I'm not an expert, but i did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night.

Comments

• Options
    richbugrichbug Member Posts: 3,650
    edited November -1
    The nosler 60 grain would be a fair choice if you must use a 223. I have used the 70 grain speer also. I can get a little over 3000 fps with it.

• Options
    GaBobGaBob Member Posts: 613 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I really don't favor the .22 s for deer but have used them on occasion. I shot a big doe with 22-250 and 50 gr Speer TNT in the neck(my favorite shot). She was looking straight at me from 75 yards. Did a complete back flip and landed on her back. Took out 5 vertebra in neck. Another with same bullet in .223 broke neck and paralyzed the deer. Took another shot behind ear to finish it.

Keep Your Powder Dry
    NRA Life Member
    The only criminal class that is native to the United States is congress.
    MARK TWAIN
  • Options
    mrbrucemrbruce Member Posts: 3,374
    edited November -1
    The 60 gr Nosler partition is a excellent bullet for small whitetails in the .223
    Sierra has a 65gr bullet that should also work very well.
    I would steer away from the TNT's as they are a rapidly expanding bullet made for varmints.
    If you have the twist for it the excellant 75gr Hornady A-max is a super deer bullet, but you do need at least a 1 in 9 twist for it to work as planned.

Gun control is hitting what your aiming at.
  • Options
    bperdue21bperdue21 Member Posts: 1,457 ✭✭
    edited November -1