In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

6mm and 243

bperdue21bperdue21 Member Posts: 1,457 ✭✭
How do you like IMR 4831 in these cartridges? pushing a 75 grain sierra hp. i like how it fills the casing well, but was kind of concerned when i read that the 243 has pressure problems with slow burning powders and can cause the action to lock or splinter the stock. thanks.

I'm not an expert, but i did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night.

Comments

• Options
    richbugrichbug Member Posts: 3,650
    edited November -1
    Action to lock and splinter stock? With a 75 grain bullet, you can't put enough 4831 in the case to hurt the gun.

I use a lot faster powder for 243. Varget or one of the 4350's are much better suited to the 243.

• Options
    edited November -1
    just going by what i read in my hornady manual

• Options
    nononsensenononsense Member Posts: 10,928 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Bart,

First things first. IMR/H-4831 are not suitable for use in the .243 Win. with light bullets. IMR-4831 can be suitable in conjunction with 95-100 gr. grain bullets but H-4831 is still too slow.

Powders that are suitable and efficient in the .243 Win. with these light bullets are:

AA XMR-4350

H/IMR-4350

V V N-150

The discussion of slow burning powders and high pressure excursions is ongoing. Use this link to read a breakdown that explains the sequence of events.

http://www.aeroballisticsonline.com/articles/mystery_solved.html

Best.

rifleman.gif
  • Options
    sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Bperdue21,