In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reloading question.

65gto38965gto389 Member Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭✭✭
Reloading question.

I am new to reloading so bear with me.

My question is when you go to remove the primer from the fired brass does it also size the case in the press, or does it do that when you go to seat the bullet? Please explain in as much detail as possible.

" Those who give up a little freedom for temporary security, deserve neither freedom nor security "
- Benjamin Franklin

Comments

• Options
    Ronald J. SnowRonald J. Snow Member Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Yes, resizing is done when you remove the primer from the casing. Crimping the bullet may be done at the same time as seating the bullet in the casing.

This is the simple answer as there are always exceptions. If you are new to reloading or thinking about it, obtain a reloading manual (Speer or Lyman is my suggestion) and study it.
  • Options
    rollnblockrollnblock Member Posts: 384 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    you can also get just a decaping die. it will punch out primers without sizing the brass.
  • Options
    65gto38965gto389 Member Posts: 2,850 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Thanks guys for your help.

I will most likely start off small with .38 spcl/ +p FULL wadcutters, and move up from there. Yes I will be casting my own bullets. I will either post the range report here or on the general discussion forum.

" Those who give up a little freedom for temporary security, deserve neither freedom nor security "
    - Benjamin Franklin
  • Options
    SnellstromSnellstrom Member Posts: 1,085 ✭✭
    edited November -1