In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Bullet Casting/Lead Contamination Precautions

rljonesrljones Member Posts: 34 ✭✭
I have been casting lead bullets for many years and would like to hear what others are doing to make the process as safe as possible. I always use disposable gloves and have recently been using an electric fume collector that is set close to the small bottom draw lead melting pot that I use. I generally do my casting outside on the backporch but this winter with the addition of the fume collector, I want to do some indoor casting in my basement. I also use safety glasses and a paper mask. Is this overkill and am I being overly cautious? Any thoughts/suggestions?

Comments

• raingaugeraingauge Member Posts: 156 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Well, in my opinion, you are on the right track. The fume collector seems to do the trick, I have noticed a lot of casters going to them. I suppose when you get my age we start to think about these things.
    Have fun, I think you'll be OK.
  • bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    We grew up with lead paint, lead split shot sinkers and lead soldiers. Lead is a naturally occurring element and could cause harm if mishandled, so can a large stone hitting you in the head. The morons at the EPA have people thinking that putting a sinker in your mouth is as bad as eating a cyanide capsule [V]. Taking the reasonable steps to avoid contamination you have taken seems great. They are way overkill in my book; but safety is never a joke with molten metals. [B)][:0]

I have casted TONS of bullets. My lead levels have been often checked and are normal. I never used any safety precautions at all for 20 years. I just casted bullets, smoked ciggs, drank beer and ate dinner at the casting table. [:D][:I]

Be safe happy shooting!