In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Which powder scale and charger combo is best

snowy1snowy1 Member Posts: 67 ✭✭
I am shopping for a digital scale that would be hooked up to a automatic powder dispenser and am confused on which name brand to buy. I have never used one before and wonder about the cost versus functions and features. I do a medium amount of rifle reloading and a ocasional reload and a couple of pistol calibers...Help!

Comments

• dcs shootersdcs shooters Member Posts: 10,969
    edited November -1
    Lyman 1200 DPS II or III is the one I think is the best for the money.I have read where guys are having troubles with the RCBS combo and going to the Lyman. Check the price on them at Wal-Mart.
    I wish I had got one years ago.
  • skyfishskyfish Member Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I have the RCBS and love it, don't think I could load anymore without it. No troubles and extemely accurate.
  • Fuzzy HoleFuzzy Hole Member Posts: 18 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    You'll probably like any of them if you've never had one before, but I just traded my PACT in for the RCBS and would give the PACT an 8 and the RCBS a 10. It is about 5 seconds slower than the PACT but it ALWAYS throws the correct amount, where the PACT drifted and I always had to make adjustments to keep it right on. The PACT throws 33.0 grains VV N-135 in about 20 seconds but you have to wait a few more seconds for it to stabilize. The RCBS does it in about 25 seconds without any extra time to stabilize. I have no experience with the Lyman unit. My best guess is RCBS costs most, then the other two are fairly close. I liked the PACT unit while it worked, but cannot say their service was acceptible. I love my RCBS but haven't had it long enough to comment on their service. I feel I got what I paid for.