In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Reloading the 30-06 for accuracy

Rack OpsRack Ops Member Posts: 18,597 ✭✭✭
I recently purchased a Savage 30-06 and I want to give reloading a try...It has a 22in barrel with a 1-10 twist.

I'm new to the '06 in general...From an accuracy standpoint, is it a good rule of thumb to go with the lighter, higher velocity, bullets like the 125gr or a heavier load?

Thanks for any imput

Comments

• Options
    konamtbikerkonamtbiker Member Posts: 284 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    In most cases rifles will shoot their best at a few grains lower than max loads. That is what i have come to find out with my rifles i load for. Accompanied with larger grain bullet weights. In the 30-06 i would recommend bullet weigts from 150-180s. Powders i would try are IMR4350.RL19 for lighter weight bullets 150-170. And RL22,N165,AA3100 for heavier bullets such as 180 and up. I think the best way to start would be to go to the hunting store and buy some ammo ranging in bullet weights from 150-180. Shoot that ammo as you break in your barrel. See what bullet weight shoots the best. Then go with that weight of bullet. Then find out how fast the bullet was moving. Then pick a powder in your reloading book that matches the velocities of the factory ammo.

Good hunting.
  • Options
    ladamsladams Member Posts: 604 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    My 06's really love the 150-180 grain bullets pushed by Alliant RX-22. Great accuracy, great velocity, and the recoil is not too stiff. For long distance shooting try NOsler Ballistic Tips in 165 or 180 grain....The 165s damage way more meat though if your thinking hunting use.
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Right now I'm not punching holes in anything but paper
  • Options
    jonkjonk Member Posts: 10,121
    edited November -1