In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

Wanting to reload

n/an/a Member Posts: 168,427
Hello all,
I am wanting to start reloading pistol/rifle. I have a progressive press (most likely will buy sigle stage for begining) I have a micrometer, scale (not digital) powder measure, case mouth reamer, and some small stuff.

I need a case trimmer, vibratory cleaner, and a digital scale. I have a couple reloading books.

What do I need besides powder/primers/bullets. Remember I am new to this with very limited knowledge of reloading.

Appreciate the help.

Comments

• Options
    JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I would buy the lee autoprime tool,..it is very simple. Get the shellholder kit too.

you'll need dies for each chambering you want to reload.

I like to have a OAL tool (I use the sinclair) so I can find the length to the lands for every rifle. This way I know how close I am and move small amounts at a time.

A comparator is nice to have as well to be used with the OAL tool.

A headspace tool (I use stoney point "head and shoulders") can help to precisely set the dies for sizing without bumping the shoulder, to just bump the shoulder, or to PFL size which draws the shoulder fwd by a few .001"s.

Some of this is getting into the precision stuff,....but really gives an education as to what you are doing with each step.
  • Options
    sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    freemind,

Of the three things on your list I would only get the first two. A good balance-beam scale will do everything a digital will. Depending on the temperature where you reload maybe even more accurately.