In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

have a few questions

I'm new to reloading. I use to reload shotshell with my dad when i was little. Anyway i'm trying to get into reloading again and I have the press and working on dies. I will be reloading for 223,308, 300win mag and probley 7.62x54 later when i start hunting with it.

Rbight now its just a plinker. now the 223 and 308 are ar stlye and 300 win mag is a savage 110. I have a reloading manual and want to start reloading for the 300. what powder should i start with. also what powder measuring do you recommend. i want something simple to use. wont be reloading to much just starting out. I see alot of dippers but i find it hard to beleave they can be accurate in measuring anyone use them

Comments

• Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    A RCBS Uniflow measure is fine, so is the Hornaday. You might snag a good deal on a used one on the auction side of the site.. The 300 Win Mag responds well to slow powders like IMR-4350 and IMR-4831. Try a few different powders to see what works best in your rifle.
  • Options
    dcs shootersdcs shooters Member Posts: 10,969
    edited November -1
    I use a Lyman-55 measure, had it for about 30yrs. Check NAZebay, they have good prices on reloading equipment also.
  • Options
    Tailgunner1954Tailgunner1954 Member Posts: 7,734 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    For now, you can simply use your scale and a teaspoon to weigh out each charge (slow, but it works). After the manual, the scale is the most important reloading tool (RCBS 505 is a good one). You will need a scale to setup your powder measure anyway.

When you pick up your scale, also get a powder funnel, it makes it easier to pour your freshly weighed charge into the case.