In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

trimming rifle brass

dgacdgac Member Posts: 694 ✭✭✭✭
I have some 222, 257, 30 06 brass. I'm new to reloading. I looked at the total length in my book. It said that the 222 have to be 1.70 and my once fired is 1.695 So is 1.70 my max case length? I checked a couple of peices of each and none of them are longer than the lengths in the book. Could they be too short? please educate me!!!

dgac

Comments

• Options
    flyingtorpedoflyingtorpedo Member Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Read the manual. It should tell you how to read the info. Most likely the info given will be the MAX allowed and if they need trimming .010 inches is to be removed. So I'd say you are under max and should be good to move on the the next step.
  • Options
    B17-P51B17-P51 Member Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    If you trim all the cases AFTER they have been resized to 1.690 or whatever the TRIM LENGTH is, it will square up all the case necks, and make all the cases the same length. This is important for crimping or if no crimp, more equal case neck tension. This equates to better accuracy. Also always trim in a batch then you will have to trim all the cases every 5 or 6 firings, more or less depends on your load and gun.
  • Options
    joesjoes Member Posts: 484 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    cases stretch after firings and chambers on all gun are slightly different in size. The cases in those cases need to be trimmed if they stretch beyond the max lenght to cycle and functionly properly. I have cases that never exceed the Max and never get trimmed. The key word is "max", so if you are under that point you need not trim, but you could trim in order to square off as stated above.
  • Options
    JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1