In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

6.5 Creedmore Vs. 6.5-284

FrancFFrancF Member Posts: 35,278 ✭✭✭
I am fairly new to both rounds. I was planning to buy a 6.5-284 but is the 6.5 Creedmore worth a look?

Comments

• JustCJustC Member Posts: 16,056 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    NOPE. the 6.5 creedmore is wayyy behind the 6.5x284 round. The Creedmore has nowhere near the range. My suggestion is the 6.5x284 unless you go with ole' faithfull,...a tight neck 6.5x55.
  • FrancFFrancF Member Posts: 35,278 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    quote:Originally posted by JustC
    NOPE. the 6.5 creedmore is wayyy behind the 6.5x284 round. The Creedmore has nowhere near the range. My suggestion is the 6.5x284 unless you go with ole' faithfull,...a tight neck 6.5x55.

Thanks Justin-[:)] I did a quick skim over the creedmor and it looked (Ballisticly) like a rehashed .308? (for a lack of a better term).
  • Hawk CarseHawk Carse Member Posts: 4,365 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    The main question that the 6.5 Creedmoor (6.5x47 Lapua, .260 Rem, 6.5x55) tries to answer, is "How close can I get to a 6.5x284 with longer barrel life?"

Look at the wind drift, that is where the small 6.5s have an edge over .308.
    edited November -1
    I am running a 6.5x55 improved, which is running with the 6.5x284 using less powder. There really isn't a need to improve it but mine was that way when I ran across the deal I couldn't pass up. Bill Truitt just built a friend of mine a no-turn necked, 6.5x55 that put 4 shots @~1" at 600yds with a flyer making it 2+". The swede is a great choice for 1000yd paper work. I may run a tight necked swede next go-round[^]

the 130-147gr class of 6.5 pills are touting some serious BC in the 2950+fps range. Mine works out to be somewhere around .615[8D] The 308 can't begin to run with those numbers.