In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

To Tumble, or Not To Tumble?

jsurvantjsurvant Member Posts: 85 ✭✭
I am new to reloading. Among the many components and practices here, I have found mixed input and research on whether is it necessary, or even best, to tumble fired brass prior to reloading. Do any of you have some input and advice here? And if you do tumble, how often is it necessary? Thank you in advance.

Jay
Houston, TX

Comments

• Options
    reloader44magreloader44mag Member Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I only load handgun and I tumble my brass after each firing, nickel cases every other time. Personal choice for me. I just like a nice "clean" finished product.[;)]
  • Options
    edited November -1
    Would you consider most tumblers as "created equal"? There are alot out there. Thanks.
  • Options
    reloader44magreloader44mag Member Posts: 18,783 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I use a Midway brand, 1292 "tumbler". it actually vibrates the cases. I have had it for 15yrs, and never a problem. What ever you end up getting, avoid overloading it. Its the only tumbler I have ever used, so I really can't point you towards a better or worse one. They all operate on pretty much the same principle.
  • Options
    skyfishskyfish Member Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I only tumble when my brass looks like it needs it, personal preference. Depends how shiny you like your ammo. I use a RCBS tumbler, but many are good. I would not shy away from a Hornady or a Dillon if you use their stuff. If you plan on tumbling a lot, get a rotary seperator, you'll see what I mean.
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1