In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.

Schmidt-Rubin K-31 as a Competition Rifle

BriareosBriareos Member Posts: 30 ✭✭
It seems I have access to a Swiss K-31 with good metal (from what I can tell), good bore and a stock that could use replacing.

Now, I've heard these rifles are very accurate and the Swiss put a high premium on individual marksmanship in their soldiers at the time of the rifles' manufacture. Seems like a no-brainer for a competition rifle right?

If you didn't already know, I'm an absolute beginner; you couldn't get any ignorant than me about competition shooting. Are these rifles even ALLOWED in any sort of competition? I live in Illinois so I'm in a fairly gun-unfriendly neighborhood and have yet to find many shooting clubs, albeit my efforts have been lax (got a lot going on at the moment with physical therapy on the knee's).

Anyway, I would love to get a new stock, perhaps one geared towards competition (free-floating barrel? glass bedding? re-barrelling? etc)and get out there and shoot until I get to any sort of respectable shooting level in NRA or any other large gun organization; I promised long ago that I would...

I used to shoot as a young-man in the scouts, and would hands down every single time there was any sort of competition. And we weren't using the hand-me-down's most scouts receive, we had very nice CMP target rifles and for some reason I was a natural (probably the only thing I'm gifted in; shooting a rifle).

Anyway, I'm rambling now and I'll let you guys mull over my situation.

Thanks for the replies!

Comments

• sandwarriorsandwarrior Member Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    Briareos,