In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

22 hornet - HELP

I have been reloading for a few years. I just started to reload for a 22 hornet. I want to start to work up a load for the rifle I just purchased. I have new remington brass. Its tumbled, sized, trimmed, chamfered, de-bured, and primed. Has been trimmed to 1.393, the bullet is a Sierra 45 grain soft point. The book says to seat to 1.720. I went over this several times to make sure I have not made a mistake. But, the bullet is way too far into the brass. The case mouth is not even touching the bullet since the bullet is seated so deep. Can anyone help me with this problem? I guess I'm lost. [:(]

Comments

• Options
    bpostbpost Member Posts: 32,664 ✭✭✭✭
    edited November -1
    I would check your calipers. It sounds like the measuring device is not accurate. What is your case length? If you seat the bullet about one caliber diameter deep you should be able to chamber and shoot it. The max OAL is listed so you can still get the loaded rounds into a magazine. If you single feed the OAL may exceed the book. some rifles like the bullet touching the lands, some like up to .0020 jump.
  • Options
    savage204savage204 Member Posts: 72 ✭✭
    edited November -1
    Just did it again, brass is 1.393, bullet is 45gr and .224 and is Sierra soft point. With it seated to spec. 1.720, the case mouth is not touching the bullet. Something just doesn't add up.
  • Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1