In order to participate in the GunBroker Member forums, you must be logged in with your GunBroker.com account. Click the sign-in button at the top right of the forums page to get connected.
Options

to clean or not 22lr barrel

hello
i have been told by several well qualified shooters to not clean the barrel as this would afect the accuracy of the firearm. i have a high standard victor that i now have put 10,000 rounds through without cleaning the barrel and accuracy has never been a problem at all. the smith & wesson 41 i have put about 1,000 through and never cleaned the barrel. i cleaned the 41 when i started shooting it but the victor i cleaned it at the end of every season except for the last 2 years. my victor has had 35,000 rounds that i put through it and it was used when i got it.
other shooters clean the barrel after everytime they use it. so i am trying that with another one of my victors and it seems to not be as accurate as when i leave it alone.
is there a good rule of thumb for the 22 shooter on how often to clean or not to clean the barrel.
thanks

Comments

• Options
    perry shooterperry shooter Member Posts: 17,390
    edited November -1